Secure Mobile Access 12.4 Administration Guide

Zeroization

Zeroization is the practice of permanently destroying all critical security parameters. This is accomplished by overwriting the entire disk with zeros. Zeroization makes it very hard to retrieve sensitive data from the appliance. It is used before recycling hardware, or in other cases where data security is more important than retaining the data. After this operation is completed, the appliance can no longer be used at your site and must be returned to SonicWall for replacement hardware to restore service.

To zeroize the appliance

  1. In the AMC, navigate to System Configuration > Maintenance.

  2. Select Reset.

  3. On the Reset page, select the type of reset you want to perform as explained in Resetting the Appliance.

  4. When the reset begins, stay physically present with the appliance until the appliance halts.

    Your appliance can take up to 45 minutes to complete the zeroization process.

Was This Article Helpful?

Help us to improve our support portal

Techdocs Article Helpful form

Techdocs Article NOT Helpful form

  • Still can't find what you're looking for? Try our knowledge base or ask our community for more help.