Editing, Copying, and Deleting Access Control Rules
Before modifying or deleting an access control rule, carefully examine your existing rules to understand how
your changes will affect your security policy.
Use caution when deleting rules because you are not prompted to confirm the deletion.
You can reorder the placement of rules in the access control list. But before you do any reordering, carefully examine them to understand how the new order will affect your security policy.
Rather than creating a new access control rule from scratch, you can save time by making a copy of an existing rule and changing some parameters to fit the new rule. Choose a rule that shares characteristics with the rule you plan to create.
Copying is also useful when experimenting with a new access rule: you can edit the copied rule and
disable the original rule during your testing. This way you can roll back to your original rule if necessary.
For more information on editing, deleting, and copying access control rules, see Deleting Referenced Objects.
When you use the Filters settings to filter the view of the access rules by a specific access method or other
criteria, you cannot use the Move Up and Move Down buttons to reorder the list. You can move an access
control rule only when Method is set to All.
To move a rule more than one position in the list, it’s usually faster to change the Number box on the Add/Edit
Access Rule page.
Was This Article Helpful?
Help us to improve our support portal