SonicOSX 7 Users for the NSsp Series

User Session Settings

These settings apply to all users when authenticated through your SonicWall network security appliance.

To configure user session settings

  1. Navigate to Users > Settings > User Sessions.

To configure settings that apply to all users who are authenticated through the firewall

  1. Navigate to Users > Settings > User Sessions.
  2. In the Inactivity timeout (minutes) field, specify the length of time for inactivity after which users are logged out of the firewall. The default is 15 minutes.
  3. From Don’t allow traffic from these services to prevent user logout on inactivity, select the service or service group option to be prevented from logging out inactive users. This option saves system overhead and possible delays re-identifying aged-out authenticated users by making them inactive instead of logging them out. Inactive users do not use up system resources and can be displayed on the Users> Status page. The default is None.
  4. For the following For logging of connections on which the user is not identified options, choose the type of logging, Log no user name or Log user name, to be done, and, optionally, the log user name:
    • If SSO fails to identify the user: Log user name Unknown SSO failed (default)
    • For connections that bypass SSO: Log user name SSO Bypass (default)

      This option also can be set in the SSO Bypass section of the Enforcement of the SSO Authentication Configuration dialog.

    • For connections originating externally: Log no user name (default). If Log user name is selected, the default user name is Unknown (external).
    • For other unidentified connects: Log no user name (default). If Log user name is selected, the default user name is Unknown.
  5. Specify how to handle a user’s connections that remain after the user logs out from the SonicWall appliance with the Actions for remaining user connections on logout options.

     Action
    Type of logoutFor connections requiring user authentication 1 For other connections 2
    On logout due to inactivity
    • Leave them alive (default)
    • Terminate them
    • Terminate after… minutes
    • Leave them alive (default)
    • Terminate them
    • Terminate after… minutes
    On active/reported logout
    • Leave them alive
    • Terminate them (default)
    • Terminate after… minutes
    • Leave them alive
    • Terminate them
    • Terminate after… 15 minutes (default)

    You can set different actions for:

    • Inactivity logout, where the user might or might not still be logged into the domain/computer.
    • Users actively logging themselves out or being reported to the SonicWall network security appliance as being logged out (the latter normally means that the user has logged out from the domain/user).
  6. Click Update.

 

Was This Article Helpful?

Help us to improve our support portal

Techdocs Article Helpful form

Techdocs Article NOT Helpful form

  • Still can't find what you're looking for? Try our knowledge base or ask our community for more help.