SonicOSX 7 Users for the NSsp Series

Adding Guest Profiles

To add a Guest Profile

  1. Navigate to the Users > Guest Services page.
  2. Check Show guest login status window with logout to display a user login window on the user’s workstation whenever the user is logged in. Users must keep this window open during their login session. The window displays the time remaining in their current session. Users can log out by clicking Logout in the login status window.
  3. Click Add Guest Profile below the Guest Profiles list to create a guest profile. The Add Guest Profile window displays.
  4. In the Add Guest Profile window, configure these options:
    • Profile Name: Enter the name of the profile.
    • User Name Prefix: Enter the first part of every user account name generated from this profile.
    • Auto-generate user name: Check this to allow guest accounts generated from this profile to have an automatically generated user name. The user name is usually the prefix plus a two- or three-digit number.
    • Auto-generate password: Check this to allow guest accounts generated from this profile to have an automatically generated password. The generated password is an eight-character unique alphabetic string.
    • Enable Account: Check this for all guest accounts generated from this profile to be enabled upon creation.
    • Auto-Prune Account: Check this to have the account removed from the database after its lifetime expires.
    • Enforce login uniqueness: Check this to allow only a single instance of an account to be used at any one time. By default, this feature is enabled when creating a new guest account. If you want to allow multiple users to login with a single account, disable this enforcement by clearing Enforce login uniqueness.
    • Activate account upon first login: To delay the Account Expiration timer until a user logs into the account for the first time, select Activate Account Upon First Login. This option is not selected by default.
    • Account Lifetime: This setting defines how long an account remains on the security appliance before the account expires. You can specify from 1 to 9999 in the Account Lifetime field and select the type of duration from the drop-down menu:
      • Minutes
      • Hours
      • Days

      The default is 7 Days.

      If Auto-Prune is enabled, the account is deleted when it expires. If Auto-Prune is cleared, the account remains in the list of guest accounts with an Expired status, allowing easy reactivation.

    • Idle Timeout: Defines the maximum period of time when no traffic is passed on an activated guest services session. Exceeding the period defined by this setting expires the session, but the account itself remains active as long as the Account Lifetime has not expired. The Idle Timeout cannot exceed the value set in the Session Lifetime.

      You can specify from 1 to 9999 in the Account Lifetime field and select the type of duration from the drop-down menu:

      • Minutes
      • Hours
      • Days

      The default is 10 Minutes.

    • To specify the quota cycle type, select from the Quota Cycle Type Setting drop-down menu:
      • Non Cyclic (default)
      • Per Day
      • Per Week
      • Per Month
    • Session Lifetime: Defines how long a guest login session remains active after it has been activated. By default, activation occurs the first time a guest user logs into an account. Alternatively, activation can occur at the time the account is created by clearing Activate account upon first login. The Session Lifetime cannot exceed the value set in the Account Lifetime.

      You can specify from 1 to 9999 in the Session Lifetime field and select the type of duration from the drop-down menu:

      • Minutes
      • Hours
      • Days

      The default is 1 Hours.

    • To limit the amount of data the user can receive, enter the amount, in MB, in Receive limit (0 to disable) field. The range is from 0 (no data can be received) to 999999999 MB to Unlimited (default).
    • To limit the amount of data the user can send, enter the amount, in MB, in Transmit limit (0 to disable) field. The range is from 0 (no data can be received) to 999999999 MB to Unlimited (default).
    • Comment: Any text can be entered as a comment in the Comment field.
  5. Click Update to add the profile.

Was This Article Helpful?

Help us to improve our support portal

Techdocs Article Helpful form

Techdocs Article NOT Helpful form

  • Still can't find what you're looking for? Try our knowledge base or ask our community for more help.