Secure Mobile Access 12.4 Administration Guide

Applying Configuration Changes

As you make configuration changes to the appliance, they are saved to disk but are not immediately applied. These changes can either be activated (described in this section) or discarded (see Discarding Pending Configuration Changes for more information).

To activate your changes, you must apply them. You can apply most changes without interrupting service to users, and new connections will use the new configuration. Low-level configuration changes (for example, an IP address change) are a bit more disruptive: network services are automatically restarted and user connections are terminated, forcing users to reauthenticate. If possible, you should apply these sorts of configuration changes during off-peak hours (perhaps during a maintenance window) and notify your users beforehand.

If you need to restart services manually, see Stopping and Starting the Secure Mobile Access Services.

To apply your changes

  1. From the list of messages at the top of the page, click Pending changes.

    The Apply Pending Changes dialog displays.

  2. Assess the impact of applying your changes by looking at the message on the Apply Changes page:

    Warning messageDescription
    • Applying changes will restart all services and terminate all user connections.

    • Applying changes will terminate existing TCP/IP user connections.

    • Applying changes will terminate existing HTTP user connections.

    Applying any of these changes terminates existing user connections.

    This requires users to reauthenticate, and may cause them to lose data.

    Your changes will require AMC to restart, which will end your current administrative session. When the request is complete, open a new browser and log in to AMC again.AMC will be unavailable after your current session ends. Close your browser and then log in to AMC again.
    No authentication realms are enabled. This will prevent users from accessing any resources.At least one authentication realm must be enabled for users to have access to resources. Otherwise, users cannot authenticate to the appliance.
  3. Click Apply Changes to apply configuration changes.

When you apply configuration changes to WorkPlace, AMC performs a restart of the services. Users do not need to reauthenticate to WorkPlace, but if they provided Windows login credentials to access a network share, they are prompted to re-enter them when WorkPlace restarts.

Any connections that exist when you apply changes continue to use the old configuration until the connection terminates. Because Web connections are short-lived, most users accessing Web resources pick up configuration changes fairly quickly. On the other hand, client/server connections can survive for a long period of time.

If the new configuration fails to load, existing connections remain in effect but new connection attempts will fail. For details on what to do in this situation, see AMC Issues.

Was This Article Helpful?

Help us to improve our support portal

Techdocs Article Helpful form

Techdocs Article NOT Helpful form

  • Still can't find what you're looking for? Try our knowledge base or ask our community for more help.