Secure Mobile Access 12.4 Administration Guide

Resetting the Appliance

From AMC, you can reset your appliance using one of three reset levels. The mildest level erases your configuration information, log files, and the current firmware, but leaves you the option to roll back to a previous version, if one is loaded.

The second level removes all configuration, log files, and firmware from the appliance. With this option, you cannot roll back to a previous version.

The third level also removes all configuration, log files, and firmware from the appliance, and then securely erases the hard drive, which can take up to 45 minutes. If you select this option, you cannot roll back to a previous version.

There are a couple of scenarios in which a reset may be appropriate:

  • You want to completely clean the machine and reuse it elsewhere.

  • The appliance is in an unrecoverable state. In this case, you should contact SonicWall Technical Support and confirm that there is no other solution to your problem. A reset should be used only as a last resort to restore the appliance to a working condition.

To configure the appliance after it has been reset, you will need to use the LCD panel or serial console.

To reset the appliance

  1. Back up the configuration data on the appliance. You can do this:

  2. In the AMC, navigate to System Configuration > Maintenance.

  3. In the top section of the page, click Reset.

  4. On the Maintenance > Reset page, select one of the following three radio buttons under Reset Options:

    • Reset the current configuration – This option erases your current configuration. If you upgraded from a previous version, selecting this option retains the ability to roll back.

    • Reset the entire appliance – This option erases your configuration and deletes all firmware versions on the appliance. If you select this option, you cannot roll back to a previous version.

    • Securely erase the hard drive and reset the entire appliance – This option erases your configuration, deletes all firmware versions, and securely erases the hard drive. If you select this option, you cannot roll back to a previous version.

      Securely erasing the hard drive can take up to 45 minutes.

  5. At the bottom of the page, click Reset to proceed with the reset. To cancel the reset, click Cancel.

To reset the appliance with a different version of the firmware

The purpose of the firmware downgrade capability is to permanently “downgrade” an appliance to a different base firmware version therefore it does NOT migrate the existing configuration or save any data or files from the appliance. It is the equivalent of a complete factory reset to an entirely new firmware base. All files and settings stored on the appliance will be permanently overwritten and the appliance will be set to factory defaults.

For more information and instructions on how to perform a firmware downgrade, seehttps://www.sonicwall.com/en-us/support/knowledge-base/170502558229507.

Was This Article Helpful?

Help us to improve our support portal

Techdocs Article Helpful form

Techdocs Article NOT Helpful form

  • Still can't find what you're looking for? Try our knowledge base or ask our community for more help.