Depending on the attributes for the VPN connection, if no default Pre‐shared Key is used, you must have a Pre‐shared Key provided by the gateway administrator to make your VPN connection. If the default Pre‐shared Key is not included as part of the connection policy download or file, the Enter Pre-shared Key dialog appears to prompt you for the Pre‐shared key before establishing the VPN connection.
To enter a Pre‐Shared Key:
Optionally, if you want to make sure you are entering the correct Pre‐shared Key, select Don’t hide the Pre‐shared key. The Pre‐shared Key you enter appears unmasked in the Pre‐shared Key field.
If you select this option, be sure to unselect it when you’ve verified the Pre‐shared Key.