en-US
search-icon

Global VPN Client 4.10 Admin Guide

Managing VPN Connections

About VPN Connections

The SonicWall Global VPN Client supports as many VPN connections as you need. To help you manage these connections, the Global VPN Client provides the connection management tools described in this section.

Arranging Connections

Over time, as the number of VPN connections can increase in the Global VPN Client window, you may want to arrange them for quicker access. You can arrange your VPN connections in the Global VPN Client window by choosing View > Sort by:

Name - Sorts the connections by connection name.
Peer - Sorts the connections by peer name.
Status - Sorts the connections by connection status.
Ascending - Sorts the connections in ascending order, such as A-Z, if enabled, and in descending order, such as Z-A, if disabled. The default sorting is by Name in Ascending order.

Renaming a Connection

To rename a connection, select the connection and choose File > Rename, then type in the new name. You can also right-click the connection and choose Rename from the menu.

Deleting a Connection

* 
IMPORTANT: You cannot delete an active VPN connection. Disable the VPN connection first, then delete it.

To delete a connection, do one of these:

Select the connection and then press the Delete key.
Choose File > Delete.
Right-click the connection name and choose Delete.

Selecting All Connections

Choosing View > Select All or pressing Ctrl+A selects all the connections in the Global VPN Client window.

Checking the Status of VPN Connections

The SonicWall Global VPN Client includes a variety of indicators to determine the status of your VPN connections. The main Global VPN Client window lists your VPN connections and their respective status: Disabled, Enabled, Connected, or Error.

A successfully connected VPN policy is indicated by a green check mark on the Policy icon.
A VPN policy that doesn’t successfully complete all phase 2 connections displays a yellow warning on the Policy icon.
A VPN policy that cannot be successfully connected displays an error mark (red X) on the Policy icon.
The Global VPN Client icon in the system tray displays a visual indicator of data passing between the Global VPN Client and the gateway.
The Status tab in the Properties dialog displays more detailed information about the status of an active VPN connection. To display the Status tab for any VPN connection, use one of the following methods:
Double-click the active VPN connection.
Select the VPN connection, then press Ctrl+T.
Select the VPN connection, then click the Status button on the toolbar.
Right-click the VPN connection in the Global VPN Client window and select Status.

* 
TIP: For more information on the Status page, see Connection Properties Status Settings.

Disabling a VPN Connection

Disabling a VPN connection terminates the VPN tunnel. You can disable a VPN connection using any of the following methods:

Right-click the VPN connection in the Global VPN Client window, and select Disable.
Right-click the Global VPN Client icon on the system tray, and choose Disable > connection.
Select the connection, then press Ctrl+B.
Select the connection, and click the Disable button on the toolbar in the Global VPN Client window.